The Northern Territories of Canada - Brazolot Migration Group

The Northern Territories of Canada

Nunavut –

The capital city is Iqaluit. Nunavut is the newest of the Canadian provinces or territories as it officially separated from the Northwest Territories in April 1999 and became a federal territory in its own right. It consists of a major share of Northern Canada and most of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago. Nunavut has the smallest population of any of the provinces or territories and that population is largely Inuit.

Northwest Territories –

The capital city is Yellowknife. Yellowknife is the diamond capital of North America. The population of the province numbers approximately 40,000 and more than half the population of the province is Aboriginal. The natural beauty of the province is largely unspoilt and there are a number of rare wildlife species in the province such as white wolves and herds of caribou, bison and moose.

Yukon Territory –

The capital city of the province is Whitehorse. The population is primarily English and First Nations which reflects the influx of miners during the gold rush in the 1890’s. The province has the record for the coldest recorded temperature in Canada, which is a reflection of its arctic and sub arctic climate.

Find out about the other regions in Canada

Website provided by | Copyright Claims